The President of the European Central Bank and the European Commissioner inaugurated the Euro Exhibition in Tallinn

Today, on 20 September, President of the European Central Bank (ECB) JEAN-CLAUDE TRICHET and European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs OLLI REHN as well as Governor of Eesti Pank ANDRES LIPSTOK and Minister of Finance JÜRGEN LIGI inaugurated the exhibition introducing the euro at the Ahhaa Science Centre.

"The euro banknotes and coins are now one of the most visible symbols of Europe and the euro is one of the main aspects shaping the European identity today," said Trichet, President of the ECB.

European Commissioner Olli Rehn said in his opening speech, that having the exhibition here, in Tallinn, the capital of Estonia, which is the next country to join the euro area, makes the display especially notable.

The exhibition provides the visitors with an overview of the development of the euro area, the history of the euro as well as money in general and of the production process of euro banknotes. Moreover, it gives the visitors a chance to get thoroughly acquainted with the appearance of euro banknotes, the common sides and the national sides of the euro coins. The exhibition also provides an in-depth overview of the security features of the euro banknotes and explains how easy it is to distinguish the counterfeits from genuine euro banknotes. The exhibition deploys many interactive and audiovisual elements and has areas dedicated to children.

The exhibition - the result of cooperation between the European Central Bank, the European Commission, Eesti Pank and the Ministry of Finance - is open from 20 September until 31 October. A broad range of publications is available on the exhibition venue for free. The entry to the exhibition is free of charge for everyone.

The Ahhaa science centre is located at Vabaduse väljak 9 and it is open every day from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The exhibition is a part of a nationwide information campaign aiming to introduce the euro to the people of Estonia in a variety of ways.

Estonia will adopt the euro on 1 January 2011.
Photos of the opening event are published and available for downloading on the Euroweb in the afternoon of the same day.

The opening speeches will be published on the Euroweb.

Further information:
Hanna Vaga
Public Relations Office
Telephone: +372 668 0959; +372 509 7285
E-mail: hanna.vaga [at]