Eesti Pank announces a competition to design a collector coin for Jaan Tõnisson



Eesti Pank has announced a competition to design a silver collector coin dedicated to the 150th anniversary of the birth of the Estonian statesman Jaan Tõnisson, which will be open to individual designers or to groups.

At the suggestion of the advisory committee at Eesti Pank, the central bank will be issuing a silver collector coin dedicated to the 150th anniversary of the birth of the Estonian statesman, politician and lawyer Jaan Tõnisson.

The coin that will be minted will be a portrait coin with a low-relief surface. The reverse of the coin must show a portrait of Jaan Tõnisson or a part of a portrait. The other elements that must be included on the reverse are the nominal value of the coin with the euro symbol (15€). The national great coat of arms, the words "Eesti Vabariik" and the year 2018 must feature on the obverse side.

Entrants in the design competition must be aware that the winning designer will have to submit a hand-shaped plaster model of the portrait or portrait fragments of Jaan Tõnisson for the reverse of the coin. The obverse of the coin can be submitted as a 3D model.

The rules and regulations for the design competition for the silver collector coin dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the birth of Jaan Tõnisson can be found in more detail on the Eesti Pank website (in Estonian).

The deadline for the submission of correctly formatted designs is 1 March 2018 at 12.00. Designs with a one-word title should be sent in a sealed envelope to Eesti Pank by the deadline to: Mündižürii, Eesti Pank, Estonia pst 13, 15095 Tallinn.

Eesti Pank will announce the results of the competition by 30 April 2018 at the latest. Once the coin is released, the winning designer will receive a prize of 2000 euros.

The silver coin with a nominal value of 15 euros will be issued in December 2018.

The programme of issuing commemorative and collector coins for 2018 and 2019 is published on the Eesti Pank website.

Eesti Pank is happy to receive suggestion for commemorative and collector coins by post or email or through its website. The bank passes all the suggestions it receives to the advisory committee for analysis and expert opinion. The proposals of the advisory committee are used by the management of Eesti Pank when they decide on which commemorative and collector coins to issue.

The committee is chaired by Mart Laar, and its members are Aino Lepik von Wirén, Piret Õunapuu, Ivar Leimus, Raul Rebane, Toomas Kiho and Lauri Vahtre.

The collector coins issued by Eesti Pank can be seen on the Eesti Pank website.

Additional information:
Piret Luhakooder
Cash and Infrastructure Department
Tel: 668 0791
Email: [email protected]

​Ingrid Mitt
Public Relations Office
Eesti Pank
Tel: 668 0965
Press enquiries: [email protected]