Entries in the design competition for coins can be submitted for three more weeks



Eesti Pank announced design competitions for three coins in July, the collector coins dedicated to Jaan Poska and to the Olympic games in Rio, and two-euro commemorative coin dedicated to Paul Keres. Designs can be submitted for the competition until midday on 18 August.

Eesti Pank is issuing its first two-euro commemorative coin, which will enter circulation throughout the euro area as a normal coin with a special design. It will be dedicated to the chess player Paul Keres, the centenary of whose birth will be in January 2016.

Eesti Pank is also issuing two collector coins in 2016. That year will see the 150th anniversary of the birth of Jaan Poska, the Estonian statesman, and Eesti Pank is issuing a silver collector coin with a nominal value of 10 euros to mark the date.

It will also be the year that the Games of the XXXI Olympiad are held in Rio de Janeiro and Eesti Pank will be issuing a silver collector coin with a nominal value of 10 euros in honour of the Estonian delegation and athletes attending the Olympic games.

The deadline for the submission of correctly formatted designs for the three coins is 18 August 2015 at 12.00 midday. Designs should be brought to Eesti Pank by the deadline or sent to: Mündižürii, Eesti Pank, Estonia pst 13, 15095 Tallinn.

Rules and regulations of the design competition for a two-euro commemorative coin dedicated to Paul Keres.

Rules and regulations of the design competition for a collector coin dedicated to Jaan Poska and for a collector coin for the Estonian delegation/athletes at the XXXI Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Participants in the design competition can submit more than one design for each coin and the winners will be announced by the jury invited by Eesti Pank by 11 September 2015 at the latest. Once each coin is released, the winning designer will receive a prize of 2000 euros

Background Information

Eesti Pank is happy to receive suggestion for coins by post or email or through its website. The bank passes all the suggestions it receives to the advisory committee for analysis and expert opinion. The proposals of the advisory committee are used by the management of Eesti Pank when they decide on which commemorative and collector coins to issue.

The committee is chaired by Mart Laar, and its members are Aino Lepik von Wirén, Piret Õunapuu, Ivar Leimus, Raul Rebane, Toomas Kiho and Lauri Vahtre.

More information on the collector coins issued by Eesti Pank can be found on the Eesti Pank website.

Additional information:

Inga Sokk
Cash and Infrastructure Department
Eesti Pank
Tel: +372 668 0708
Email: [email protected]

Ingrid Mitt
Public Relations Office
Eesti Pank
Tel: +372 668 0965
Email: [email protected]

Press enquiries: [email protected]