Eesti Pank announces its first competition to design a two-euro commemorative coin



Eesti Pank announces its first competition to design a two-euro commemorative coin, which is a coin that enters circulation but has a special design. The commemorative coin will be dedicated to the chess player Paul Keres and will circulate throughout the euro area.

January 2016 will see the 100th anniversary of the birth of Paul Keres, and Eesti Pank is issuing a specially designed commemorative two-euro circulation coin to mark the date. The national side of the coin will feature a new design, but the common side will remain the same as normal.

Elements that must be included in designs submitted to the competition for the national side of the coin are the words “Eesti” and “Paul Keres” and the year 2016. It is recommended that a full or partial portrait of Paul Keres and elements of a chess set be used in the design. The design should also use the circle of twelve stars surrounding the whole of it. The twelve stars and the word “Eesti” should appear as they do on the two-euro circulation coin.

The common side of the commemorative coin will be the same as that of all circulating euro coins and no design needs to be submitted for it.

Designs for entry in the competition should be submitted by 18 August 2015 at 12.00 to Eesti Pank to: Mündižürii, Eesti Pank, Estonia pst 13, 15095 Tallinn.

Designers may enter the competition individually or as a group, and may submit more than one design for the coin, and the winners will be announced by the jury invited by Eesti Pank by 11 September 2015 at the latest. Once the coin is released, the winning designer will receive a prize of 2000 euros.

Two design competitions for collector coins are running at the same time.

Eesti Pank is happy to receive suggestion for coins by post or email or through its website. The bank passes all the suggestions it receives to the advisory committee for analysis and expert opinion. The proposals of the advisory committee are used by the management of Eesti Pank when they decide on which commemorative and collector coins to issue.

The committee is chaired by Mart Laar, and its members are Aino Lepik von Wirén, Piret Õunapuu, Ivar Leimus, Raul Rebane, Toomas Kiho and Lauri Vahtre.

Rules and regulations of the design competition for a two-euro commemorative coin dedicated to Paul Keres

Additional information:

Inga Sokk
Cash and Infrastructure Department
Tel: 668 0708
Email: [email protected]

Ingrid Mitt
Public Relations Office
Tel: 668 0965, 512 6843
Email: [email protected]
Press enquiries: [email protected]