Eesti Pank is seeking a design for a collector coin for the Olympic Games in Tokyo



Eesti Pank is holding a competition to design a collector coin dedicated to the Estonian athletes at the summer Olympic Games in Tokyo. The coin will be issued in summer 2020.

Eesti Pank has a long tradition of issuing collector coins for the Olympics, going back to 1992. The central bank has issued ten Olympic coins so far and will be issuing a silver collector coin with a nominal value of 8 euros in honour of the athletes representing Estonia at the summer Olympic games in Tokyo.

The year 2020 is a significant one for Estonian Olympic history as it will be exactly 100 years since Estonia first competed, when Alfred Neuland won a gold medal for weightlifting at the 1920 Olympics in Antwerp. The Estonian Olympic Committee hopes to send some 40 athletes to Tokyo. The final team list for the games will be confirmed next summer.

The design for the Tokyo Olympics coin must include the national great coat of arms, the words “Eesti Vabariik” and the year 2020 on the obverse side, and the nominal value with the euro symbol (8€) on the reverse. The design of the coin may not use any symbols that belong to the International Olympic Committee or the Olympic games in Tokyo. Designs can be submitted in black and white or in colour.

The rules and regulations for the design competition for the silver collector coin for the XXXII Olympic Summer Games in Tokyo can be found in more detail on the Eesti Pank website. The deadline for the submission of designs is 23 September 2019 at 12.00.

Eesti Pank is happy to receive suggestions for commemorative and collector coins by post or email or through its website. The bank passes all the suggestions it receives to the advisory committee for expert opinion. The proposals of the advisory committee are used by the management of Eesti Pank when they decide on which commemorative and collector coins to issue.

The committee is chaired by Mart Laar, and its members are Aino Lepik von Wirén, Piret Õunapuu, Ivar Leimus, Raul Rebane, Toomas Kiho and Lauri Vahtre.

The collector coins issued by Eesti Pank

Additional information:

Piret Luhakooder
Cash and Infrastructure Department
668 0791
Email: [email protected]